Welcome to MDF-The Largest Madhuri Dixit Forum On Net.

At the moment, you are viewing the forum as a guest. As a guest you can't make post and participate in discussions. You need to register and become a member of the forum.Please log in if you are already a member or join our community if you're not yet....

Thank You



You are not connected. Please login or register

 » Madhuri Dixit World » Movies/Reviews » Aaja Nachley Review

Aaja Nachley Review

Page 1 of 2 Go to page : 1, 2  Next

avatar

aanchal

MDF Expert
MDF Expert
Female
Number of posts : 3313
Age : 27
Location : India
Registration date : 2007-05-11
Reputation : 72
Points : 3658
star news was showing a special program on aaja nachley. they told the plot of the movie which is like this-

madhuri plays diya who returns to india after getting a phone call. her 'guru' is on deathbed. the theatre at which she learnt dancing is in danger as the politicians want that land. so she aacepts the challenge of reviving the theatre in 2 months

#1 - Posted on Sun Oct 14, 2007 8:42 pm
View user profile
avatar

Raya

Moderator
Moderator
Female
Number of posts : 392
Age : 28
Location : France
Registration date : 2007-05-26
Reputation : 1
Points : -2
I'm dying to see the movie.

#2 - Posted on Wed Oct 17, 2007 2:37 am
View user profile
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
OMG - can I access that clip from somewhere?

#3 - Posted on Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:31 am
View user profile
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
The music review can be accessed from this link http://sify.com/movies/bollywood/review.php?id=14545682&ctid=5&cid=2425

or you can visit www.indiafm.com

Personally, this reviewer does not know what he/she is talking about. I think the music deserves a 5/5

#4 - Posted on Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:34 am
View user profile
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
Madhuri Dixit is back! The pristine beauty of 90’s who made every heart “dhak-dhak” with her swirling-twirling moves makes her singing-dancing comeback after a hiatus of 7 years in Salim-Suleiman configured theatrical musical bonanza AAJA NACHLE. It was big task for any composer to deliver an exuberantly show-stopper musical show as Yash Raj last troupe musical DIL TO PAAGAL HAI, featuring Madhuri, SRK, was magnanimous success. The album extrovertly delivers musical ammunition in the style and flair of fun-filled “nautanki” histrionics with mixed bag of results.

“Aaja Nachle”, a tantalizing “chocolate box” title track about the zeal and notion of spirited dancing is a brilliant solo songstress effort by ever versatile Sunidhi Chauhan. The serpentine flow of “shehnai’ coupled with synchronized drumming of “dhol”, “tabla” and arranged harmoniously with keyboard notes delivers a feisty rustic folklore outlook. Salim-Suleiman harmonic textures has big take on typical “nautanki” style of work where the frivolously paced classical music propels and collides impetuously with crispy wording (Piyush Mishra) to give a thriving dancing floor appeal. This Madhuri special number gets into higher tempo with westernized inputs to give a signature finale look in “Aaja Nachle (reprise)”. It has the gloss and crush of Madhuri’s flamboyance written everywhere on it but hasn’t got the gleaming spark of her everlasting tracks like “Ek Do Teen” or “Mera Piya Ghar Aaaya” etc that made her prodigy overnight.

Salim-Suleiman gets into typical Chopra-Johar’s mushy romantic overtones in its sluggish arrangement and supple rhythmical patterns in squashy “Ishq Hua”. The excruciatingly vociferous splurge of Sonu Nigam and Shreya Ghoshal are under utilized as they are coordinated with pale sounding contemporary orchestration. Even the exhaustively impounding wording of Jaideep Sahni proves inadequate to lift its spirits and all it ends up as poor cousin to tracks like “Tumhi Dekho Naa” (KABHI ALVIDA NA KEHNAA).

“Show me your Jalwa”, an outrageously voluble song about encouraging locales to join fun fare troupe at scintillating dancing show is a brilliant handiwork of lyrical catchphrases, folksy harmony and throaty vocal flows. Jaideep Sahni’s enthusiastically imposed exhortations are remarkably emoted by unconventional but promising Richa Sharma, Kailash Kher and Salim Merchant that bring shades and glimpses of Udit Narayan’s rendered “Mitwa” (LAGAAN) for its “go-getter” feel.

Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, now a regular in melancholically profound sluggish tracks gets into another sentimental eloquence about beleaguered love relationship in average sounding “O Re Piya”. Like “Maula Mere Le Le Meri Jaan” (CHAK DE INDIA), it has more narrative appeal in its poignant wordings with predictable arrangements of bass guitars and drumming in its melodic backdrop with splurge of “qawalli” flows in its latter interludes.

Theatrically amusing!!! Spunk, humor and zeal are written all over it with Madhuri’s chirpy connotations about youth (Patang sang urr gaya bachpan…ayi jawani re!) making engrossing elegiac prelude to the highly entertaining track “Soniye Mil Ja”. Piyush Mishra’s hilariously catchphrases are cheerful salutations to the youthful spirit where Sukhwinder Singh’s merry-making voice along with Sunidhi’s enthused rendition is sheer listening delight.

After mediocre “Ishq Hua”, it’s time for another slapstick soft melodic work “Is Pal” from the vocals of Sonu Nigam and Shreya Ghoshal with slightly better results. It has intrinsically intense Indian classical works of “sitar” and tabla with scurry of soft westernized arrangements in its rhythms but the “soulful” impulse is strikingly missing.

“Koi Pathar Se Na Maare”, quintessentially traditional Indian opera rendition about “Daastan-e-Laila Majnu” is figuratively appealing in its gloomy tonality with modest vocals, synchronized harmonic flows, and elegiac wordings at its best. Shreya Ghoshal’s shimmering yell in svelte rendition is the brightest while Sunidhi delivers a gripping prelude and Sonu Nigam’s affirmative vocals sums up with an impressive conclusion to this depressing theatrical saga.

Move it…groove it!!! It’s groovy time to streamline your body beautiful as the track “Dance with me” comes out in the form of an amusing ordeals envisaged by model trainer on the dancing floor in 80’s flamboyant style. Sonia Saigal delivers this mumbo-jumbo sounding track that can be playful exploit for an aspiring dancing freak but relevantly low key affair for the listening pleasures.

Salim-Suleiman raises their mantle of being proficient melodic storyteller through AAJA NACHLE rather than feasting listeners with enthralling urbane disco delight tracks. It has chartbusting surprises in theatrically delightful tracks like “Aaja Nachle”, “Soniye Mil Ja” and “Show me your Jalwa” while disappoints completely in mushy soundtracks.

#5 - Posted on Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:06 am
View user profile
avatar

sumi

Admin
Admin
Female
Number of posts : 1419
Age : 31
Location : India
Registration date : 2007-04-09
Reputation : 51
Points : 1055
I just love thats song :show me ur jalwa" n also title track.

#6 - Posted on Tue Oct 30, 2007 6:24 am
View user profile http://www.madhuridixitnene.net
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
Yeah, the album is just a mixture of all things good

#7 - Posted on Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:36 am
View user profile
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95

#8 - Posted on Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:12 pm
View user profile
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
Aaja Nachle is bollywood’s heartthrob, actress Madhuri Dixit’s comeback film and hence one has a lot of expectations. The film is being produced by Yash Raj films which also maintain high quality in music appeal. The film is a musical and hence the songs are supposed to make people want to get up and dance. The music has been composed by Salim-Sulaiman and the lyrics have been penned by Piyush Mishra, Jaideep Sahani and Asif Ali Beg. Singers like Sunidhi Chauhan, Sonu Nigam, Shreya Ghoshal, Richa Sharma, Kailash Kher, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan etc. Madhuri has also lent her voice for a small part.

‘Aaja Nachle’- This is the title song sung by Sunidhi Chauhan, its vibrant and peppy. A traditional feel with Indian appeal but one that allows to gyrate to its peppy beats. Sunidhi Chauhan’s rendition is also good and she has the punch and pep that suits Madhuri’s graceful traditional moves. The musical arrangements have Indian instruments and even the rhythm and melody have a classical appeal. There is one more version ‘reprise version’ which is also a fine dance number. Aaja Nachle is an upbeat, Indian dance track.

'Ishq Hua' – A romantic track sung by Sonu Nigam and Shreya Ghoshal. A soft song which has a dose of poetry. A typical Yash Raj song that incorporates soft musical arrangements with soulful lyrics. The beats are slow and the melody is soothing. A soft romantic song that makes you hum along.

'Show Me Your Jalwa' – Richa Sharma begins the song on an upbeat note, it has a catchy chorus which is in English. The rhythm and feel of the song is lively and enthusiastic. Musical arrangements are a mixed bag but lyrics are just average. Kailash Kher and Salim Merchant join Richa Sharma adding spark to the rendition. The song has a rural, interiors appeal and will be liked by the small towns. It has an earthy and rustic feel. ‘Show Me Your Jalwa’ may not have high musical value, but is a catchy time pass number.

'O Re Piya' – This number has a slight ‘qawalli’ fell and is rendered by Rahat Fateh Ali Khan. It is interesting in bits and pieces and Rahat Fateh Ali Khan’s voice gives it a lift. The number is not catchy but perhaps the picturisation will enhance it. Musical arrangements are fine and melody is average. Lyrics are nice. Overall an average number that makes for decent listening.

'Soniye Mil Ja' – Madhuri Dixit adds a sweet touch with her singing and she is joined by Sunidhi Chauhan. An earthy song which has decent musical arrangements and is a dance track. It is has a rustic interiors feel once again. The song is a loud celebration song which is a dance track once again. Lyrics are more sedate and basic. A fare song that may gradually catch on.

'Is Pal' – A romantic duet sung by Sonu Nigam and Shreya Ghoshal. A soft romantic track with slow beats and soothing melody. Musical arrangements are fine and it is a feel good number. The duo renders the song with grace.

'Koi Patthar Se Na Maare' – This song has once again been sung by Sonu Nigam and Shreya Ghoshal, but it is more of a situational track. With preachy poetic lyrics, the track is not very engaging. In fact it turns out to be long drawn and boring. A track that does not offer much in terms of melody and music.

'Dance with Me' – An average Hinglish dance track sung by Sonia Saigal, peppy beats with loud celebratory musical arrangments etc. A disco feel to the song which has average lyrics. Overall an average number.

Aaja Nachle is a mixed album and has few good dance tracks and few good love songs. Some of the dance tracks have catchy tunes and the love songs are melodious. However a few numbers are just average and overall the album lacks the trendy, popular pep of today’s times. Nonetheless the album is above average and can make for good listening.

Source: http://www.bollywoodmantra.com/music-reviews-469-aaja-nachle.html

#9 - Posted on Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:03 pm


dpillai
View user profile
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
Post all Aaja Nachle review here.

Read the review here:

http://www.glamsham.com/movies/reviews/30-movie-review-aaja-nachle-110702.asp

#10 - Posted on Fri Nov 30, 2007 6:12 pm


dpillai
View user profile
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
One this to consider is that this same man gave Chak De a 1.5 out of 5 and that film went on to be a super duper success.

#11 - Posted on Fri Nov 30, 2007 6:13 pm


dpillai
View user profile
avatar

aanchal

MDF Expert
MDF Expert
Female
Number of posts : 3313
Age : 27
Location : India
Registration date : 2007-05-11
Reputation : 72
Points : 3658
Aaja Nachle: Madhuri Rocks




indya.com rating: 3 out of 5 *



Cast: Madhuri Dixit, Konkona Sen, Kunal Kapoor and in Sp. App Akshaye Khanna and Irrfan Khan

Director: Anil Mehta

Synopsis: Dia (Madhuri) returns back to her small hometown Shamli from New York to attend to her ailing dance guru. It’s too late as he passes away just before her arrival and Ajanta, the institution where she learnt dancing under him, is now under threat of demolition making headway for a mall. With the help of Doctor (Raghubir Yadav), the caretaker of Ajanta, Dia sets out on a mission to save it. She is challenged by Rajasaab aka Uday (Akshaye Khanna) the local MP who believes that Ajanta has no takers and therefore its demolition to construct a shopping mall there is the right thing to do. When Dia confronts him, he throws her a challenge of arranging a theatre production which will include only the locals and judging by its success he shall take the final decision whether Ajanta would remain or not.

Dia accepts his near impossible challenge with only two months in hand. The task of getting together the right people who will support her cause despite facing opposition from rest of the town is a big challenge she faces. But, gradually all starts falling in place as she uses all tricks in her book to get on her characters for her dance-drama. They include, the local toughie Imran (Kunal Kapoor), the tomboyish Anokhi (Konkona Sen) who nurses a crush on Imran, the local wannabe politician Chaudhary (Akhilendra Mishra), Dia's once jilted lover Mohan (Ranvir Shorey), a boring government servant Mr. Chojar (Vinay Pathak), a struggling insurance agent Sanjeev Mehta (Jugal Hansraj) amongst many others. She also faces a major threat from builder Faroukh (Irrfan) who wants to build the mall there and is married to her once best friend Najma (Divya Dutta). How she manages to put up her show facing difficulties and what it leads to forms the crux of the film.


Acting: Madhuri makes a smashing comeback outshining her own old self. Not only does she look amazingly attractive even at a 40 plus age but her dancing appears more graceful this time making it worth the price of your ticket. Akshaye Khanna in his brief part succeeds in matching up to her. Kunal Kapoor suits the role while Konkona is good as always. Ranvir Shorey and Vinay Pathak's characters have an underline of sensitivity which they successfully convey. Raghubir Yadav is superb. Irfan is his natural self assured self and is brilliant in the climax scene.

indya.com rating: 3 out of 5





Direction: Cinematographer turned director Anil Mehta has presented Madhuri just perfectly, keeping in mind her USP - her amazing dancing prowess and majestic hold over performing emotional scenes. Never once does the director in him fall prey to experimenting with unnecessary zany camera angles and his focus remains completely on the drama happening. But, too many cinematic liberties taken like magnificent set changes happening every minute in a dilapidated open theatre taken during the staged dance drama take away the seriousness. Also keeping in mind the predictability of the second half, it could have been shorter.

indya.com rating: 2.5 out of 5

Script: In a way one can call it a typical clichéd underdog story but the background of dance n theatre coupled with some realistic touches of our every day life is what sets it apart. At times it does remind one of last week's release Goal which had a team of footballers trying to save their small ground from the land sharks who want to build a mall there. Biggest sore point though remains the never ending 25 minutes Laila Majnu dance drama which makes the climax of the film. Also the sub plot of Madhuri's affair with a foreigner drags.

indya.com rating: 2.5 out of 5

Music: Salim – Suleiman's music is purely situational and goes well with the film's theme. The title number coupled with Mads dancing rocks. The 25 minutes long dance number comprising of various pieces joined together could have been better.

indya.com rating: 2.5 out of 5

#12 - Posted on Fri Nov 30, 2007 7:33 pm


View user profile
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
Thanks

#13 - Posted on Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:07 pm


dpillai
View user profile
avatar

MadzSHK89

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Female
Number of posts : 572
Age : 28
Location : Sweden
Registration date : 2007-04-20
Reputation : 3
Points : 35
thx (=:

#14 - Posted on Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:10 pm
View user profile
avatar

MadzSHK89

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Female
Number of posts : 572
Age : 28
Location : Sweden
Registration date : 2007-04-20
Reputation : 3
Points : 35
some users' review I found at Indiafm almost everyone liked the movie :clap:
By Iskandar Mahmood, November 30, 2007 - 19:31 IST
Excellent Movie and Dance. Madhuri will steal everyone' heart once again for sure. She is the best. Deserving Film Fare's Best Actress Award.
What I liked about the movie:
Madhuri and her Dances and the Script
What I didn't like about the movie:
None
Would you recommend this movie to your friend: Yes
User Movie Rating: 5

By Abhijit Mukherjee, November 30, 2007 - 19:19 IST
With due respect to Mr. Taran Adarsh I just can't restrict myself to write that he has very poor choice about movies & whoever has given him the responsibility to write the official reviews in a renowned website like IndiaFM is a big fool. If a poor opening decides the quality of a move then Kaho Naa Pyaar Hai had not only medicre, but the worst opening, but the rest is history. Mr. Adarsh has given awesome credits to a movie like Om Shanti Om, but for Aja Nachle ..... It's really a matter of shame Mr. Adarsh for a man like you, who is authorized to write a official review in such a website.. A critic should always be brave enough to write the proper & correct analysis of a movie & also must be well eligible to understand the value of art, acting as well as Indian Cinema. It's my humble request to all the critics over here to write the exact & proper remarks, not influenced by anything without your own mind & soul. It's very much obvious in the history of Indian Cinema that we have got very few leading ladies for whom audience can rush to the cinema halls, Madhuri is one of them.
What I liked about the movie:
Excellent choreography by Vaibhavi Merchant, from the perspective of dance it was just perfect come back material provided by Vaibhavi Merchant for Madhuri dixit. Dialogues by Jaideep Sahni is too good compel the audience to clap as well as the lyrics by Piyush Mishra, Jaideep Sahni, Asif Ali Beg. There were no overacting, no poor performance; all the actors have done the proper justice to their characters. Even a small appearance by Darshan Jariwala is also short – term but memorable & well balanced acting display. Kankona was at her bet as she looks like every time she appears on the silver screen.
What I didn't like about the movie:
Since I have started, its the second time after Jab We Met I found hard to find any flaws. There is no choice other than something more better, but this movie deserve nothing but a compliment like "CUTE" & cuteness cant be measured.
Favorite Scene:
For a Madhuri dixit fan its not a big deal only to watch the face of their favorite MOHINI foe 3long hours, but there are really something more than that for not only the fans of Madhuri but also for any movie-lovers.
Would you recommend this movie to your friend: Yes
User Movie Rating: 4

By swarnaditya maity, November 30, 2007 - 19:03 IST
its awesome!!! madhuri rulzz............
What I liked about the movie:
actin of all guyz......costume.....camera....story...choreographer... songs All i like..........
What I didn't like about the movie:
nothin
Favorite Scene:
every thing...........coolllllll
Would you recommend this movie to your friend: Yes
User Movie Rating: 5

By sofi kuaja, November 30, 2007 - 18:53 IST
Madhuri is great as usual. fans will love her again in this movie....worth watching
What I liked about the movie:
madhuri
Would you recommend this movie to your friend: Yes
User Movie Rating: 4.5

By vishal raghuvanshi, November 30, 2007 - 17:33 IST
Loved the movie. Madhuri is magical. Its a simple fun movie....but Madhuri makes it extraordinary. I would highly recommend this movie. Atleast once if not twice. ****stars
What I liked about the movie:
Madhuri...all the way
What I didn't like about the movie:
....!
Favorite Scene:
madhuri's studi dance sequence...just to name one. Each and every move of her is spell bounding.
Would you recommend this movie to your friend: Yes
User Movie Rating: 4.5


By sohan choudary, November 30, 2007 - 17:08 IST
MADZ ROCK... AWESOME MOVIE FOR ALL OF MADHURI FANS... SHE IS WoNDERFUL
What I liked about the movie:
MADHURI
What I didn't like about the movie:
STORY IS A LITTLE WEAK
Favorite Scene:
ALL THE 1st HALF
Would you recommend this movie to your friend: Yes
User Movie Rating: 4.5

By rahul deo, November 30, 2007 - 16:48 IST
it was totally disappointing.i have not expect sush a movie
What I liked about the movie:
role of madhuri in last drama
What I didn't like about the movie:
bakwass
Favorite Scene:
distribution of wine among mohan n their friend's
Would you recommend this movie to your friend: No
User Movie Rating: 1.5


:dance: :dance: :dance:

#15 - Posted on Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:20 am
View user profile
avatar

Raya

Moderator
Moderator
Female
Number of posts : 392
Age : 28
Location : France
Registration date : 2007-05-26
Reputation : 1
Points : -2
not bad!

#16 - Posted on Sat Dec 01, 2007 1:34 am
View user profile
avatar

sumi

Admin
Admin
Female
Number of posts : 1419
Age : 31
Location : India
Registration date : 2007-04-09
Reputation : 51
Points : 1055
Awesome movie guyz superv,I just loved it.Madhuri Dixit is back with bang,m going to watch again wow so lovely Madhuri Dixit u rock
my rating 4/5



Last edited by on Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:32 am; edited 1 time in total

#17 - Posted on Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:19 am


View user profile http://www.madhuridixitnene.net
avatar

sumi

Admin
Admin
Female
Number of posts : 1419
Age : 31
Location : India
Registration date : 2007-04-09
Reputation : 51
Points : 1055
What is the film is about:

Dia (Madhuri Dixit) is a small town girl who grows up in Shamli. But she is one of those people who refuse to be tied down. And she has one great passion, dance. Her parents don't seem to understand her at all. Luckily for her, she has a mentor, a guru, who gives wings to her dreams and gives her the courage to soar. Acting on a whim she breaks all ties with her parents and takes off for New York. Despite a failed relationship, she rebuilds her life and is happily settled in New York. But one fine day Dia's peaceful existence is shattered and she gets a call which necessitates her return to Shamli.

And she returns to a town where the very mention of her name is taboo. The town itself is undergoing a metamorphosis. Land grabbers plan to demolish the dance school with the intention of building a mall. And Dia has to bring together the entire town, overcoming prejudice, ridicule and hostility so that she can save her beloved institution and keep her guru's dream intact.

What we liked


Just about everything. After Chak De! India and Bheja Fry this film is the third surprise of 2007. For a change, this is a film which has not been made strictly for multiplex audiences. It will appeal to many especially people in small towns.

All the characters have been well fleshed out. There is Kunal kapoor, the low life who only uses his muscle power, Vinay Pathak the intrepid government official, his wife Sushmita Mukherji who thankfully has not been made to over-act. The pace of the film is excellent especially in the first half. Konkona Sen Sharma is her usual ebullient self. After Laaga Chunari Mein Daag, she and Kunal have been cast together again and they are quite a lethal combination.

Madhuri Dixit
still rocks. The casting is perfect because there is nobody else who could have carried off this role with the grace and aplomb that she has. It's her film through and through.

After seeing the film you realise that rumours about Madhuri not liking the film are just that, rumours. No actress could have asked for a better comeback vehicle than Aaja Nachle.

The songs have been well picturised and will steadily climb the charts in the next few weeks. The music is the kind that gradually grows on you.

Excellent compositions especially in the dance sequences, but that was only to be expected as this first- time director is a cinematographer of some repute.

Dia's daughter Radha who looks and acts as a real child and not like plastic cut-outs which you have seen in Ta Ra Rum Pum.

Akshaye Khanna makes quite an impact despite the minuscule size of his role.

And over and above everything else, the dialogues and the humour is what takes the cake. Jaideep Sahni manages to evoke laughter from the audience every few minutes despite the basic storyline of the film being very grim.

What we didn't like:

The second half of the film could have been shortened slightly. It does tend to drag a little bit.

Konkona's costumes through the final dance drama. Most of her outfits look like she was wearing embellished nighties.

The choreography could have been better. It tends to get a bit repetitive at times.

We recommend: Watch this film if you like Madhuri Dixit. And we recommend it even more in case you haven't liked her work so far. This is one film where it's practically impossible not to like her.

Rating:
4/5
http://www.buzz18.com/reviews/movies/review-aaja-nachle-is-for-everyone/28194/0

#18 - Posted on Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:30 am


View user profile http://www.madhuridixitnene.net
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
I thought the film was amazing

#19 - Posted on Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:56 pm


dpillai
View user profile
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95

#20 - Posted on Thu Dec 06, 2007 4:44 am


dpillai
View user profile
avatar

MadzSHK89

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Female
Number of posts : 572
Age : 28
Location : Sweden
Registration date : 2007-04-20
Reputation : 3
Points : 35
a review I found at bollyspice.com

Okay I just finished seeing this movie and I am still catching my breath. I am just too much in awe. WOW! I don't have words to describe it, I really and trully don't. Usually with a movie I can give you a billion reasons as to why it is perfect but with Aja Nachle I can't because the amount of brillance in the movie cannot be counted. It is simply amazing.
For those who know me here they'll know that dancing is my passion and perhaps that's why I enjoyed the movie. Whatever the reason is I'd just like to say WOW! I am still in awe lmao!!!!
After sooooo long did I see just brilliant choreography. I had goose bumps whilst watching Ore Piya and the final Layla-Majnu play. I truly did. I am not exegeratting. The sequencing of the songs was phenominal! I haven't researched by it looked like work of Vaibhavni. Indiant cinema has had a long drag of mediocre choreography and it was about time whe got something phenominal. I mean just wow! The play at the end was just wow!
Kunal and Konkona made my heart tingle and Madhuri's appearence just put the huge smile on my face. WOW WOW WOW!
Other reviews weren't raving and now I think that critics out there are so used to seeing crap movies that they don't recorgnise a flawless one when it hits them in the face.
Okay Yash Raj has just redeemed themselves in my eyes (no doubt they'll go back down the drain with their amatuer movie makers like Kunal Kohli and Siddharth Anand lmao) Chak De was hatke but Aja Nachle reminded you of what YRF stood for. Or what YRF movies meant to me when growing up.
I will disect the movie much more later when I have caught my breath but for now WOW!
10/5!!!!
(I think this is the most I have ever praised a movie
)

#21 - Posted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:27 am
View user profile
avatar

sumi

Admin
Admin
Female
Number of posts : 1419
Age : 31
Location : India
Registration date : 2007-04-09
Reputation : 51
Points : 1055
very nice Smile

#22 - Posted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:06 am


View user profile http://www.madhuridixitnene.net
avatar

dpillai

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Male
Number of posts : 843
Age : 32
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2007-08-18
Reputation : 7
Points : 95
I LOVE THIS REVIEW, Maybe this person should have a one on one with Taran Adarsh

#23 - Posted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:03 am


dpillai
View user profile
avatar

MadzSHK89

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Female
Number of posts : 572
Age : 28
Location : Sweden
Registration date : 2007-04-20
Reputation : 3
Points : 35
hahah I agree

#24 - Posted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 8:33 pm
View user profile
avatar

MadzSHK89

Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Madhuri Dixit Obsessed
Female
Number of posts : 572
Age : 28
Location : Sweden
Registration date : 2007-04-20
Reputation : 3
Points : 35
Oh and btw coz I absolutley loved this film, I went and saw it again today and I am seeing it on the coming Sunday too...


Awaiting Madhuris' comeback: Prior to Madhuris' stint on KWK had anyone asked me if I would ever be looking forward to Madhuris' comeback I probably would have scoffed and that would have been my answer enough but today its a much different story and if anyone was to ask me the same question I think i'd have a essay long reply just to say "yes" lol. Post seeing Madz on KWK I have become a full and full fan to the surpise of everyone and myself. A few years ago I was a Madhuri Dixits' fans worst nightmare When people talked of her 100 watt smile I really couldn't see the beauty, but the obvious jewel that her smile was was, was very obvious, I was looking everywhere but except at that dashing smile of hers to see that 100 watt smile. I am regretably sorry that I wasn't a Madhuri Dixit fan long before. I found myself smiling everytime Mads smiled in AN... I have become a saddist fan of hers LOL

Story of AN: I really wished Mads did a comeback in a hardcore belt out screaming dialogues kind of film but Madhuri is Madhuri, whatever role she will get she will churn out the finest in her to her character and she did just that with Dia. As I mentioned earlier the storyline isn't the best, new or original but its apt for a feel good film to make you smile and with Madhuris every entry onto the big screen I found myself doing that . That said I actually thought the story was quite nice and different too, not original but different in the sense of the recent spate of films that have come and gone and highly enjoyable by one, two, friends, family and all.
And as a side note I have to say every single co-star fitted their roles to the maximum and complimented one another amazingly

Songs:
Aaja Nachle: I only first heard the musica theme to this song and fell in love with it, as soon as I'd see it on TV I would stop in the middle of whatever I was doing. But then I heard the song and loved it even more and seeing Madhuri dance to it, it became a must for my pc, friends cars and ipod
O Re Piya: I heard this the first time I saw the film and as soon as I heard the flute play I knew i'd like it a great deal, and I did, now I have this song on all my possible means of music players
Dance With Me: Don't love it but don't hate, I just don't mind it
Show Me Your Jalwa: I love this song! Its so different from the recent spate of songs, so peppy and foot tappinglu enjoyable
And the other songs, I can't remember the names lol but I liked them, infact I liked all the songs



Madhuri: What do I say about my recent newest fav actress? I LOVE HER! Haha but I do. When Mads did her intro into the film I was like "hhmmmm" but as soon as I heard her say "If its an emergency call 911" with her twang of Indian and American accent and I just settled myself to enjoy her performance and I did much more than I had thought so. Never in my life have I thought Madhuri looked so beautiful as much as I did with seeing her in AN and when I saw her dance I couldn't belive it, she had the moves and grooves much better than those half naked American dancers she was dancing with in the Dance With Me song
I was expecting a huge fanfare before the Aaja Nachle song but I was let down slight by the fact that it just came as if it were some ordinary song with some ordinary model turned actress! HELLO!!! This is Madhuri Dixit, not only Queen Bee of Bollywood but the words Aaja Nachle are synonamus with her. Nonetheless the performance she gave during that song were out of THIS world! Seeing her dance in this song has tempted me to take up salsa LOL I know thats not even remotley linked to this film or even the type of dancing shown in this film but I thought I'd share that coz this film was the inspiration behind my latest "take a chance" move .
But to end my note of praise, AN is about Madhuri, the USP of the film IMO is Madhuri and for devoted fans and plain Bolly movie buffs, this film is a must purely because it is a simple film with a giant star cast that compromises of Madhuri and Madhuri and more Madhuri, with affulent dialogue delivery, a mesmerizing smiler, enchanting dance movements that sets a beat within yourself and makes you want to dance but because you know you are not even a percent good as Madhuri you just make do with tapping your foot.


Kunal: I know previously someone mentioned that Kunal does the "no hand washing, I'll eat my food with my dirty hand type role" whats wrong him doing so? If he is so damn good at acting the part of a grunger who eats foot with dirty hands then i'd like to see him play such roles over and over again because he does a fine job of it I thought he was perfect for this role, others could have done his role too but I doubt they could have made it as enjoyable to watch the way he did. I liked the gradual transition he was going through from "grunger, stiff mover, will die but not dance, can't stand anoki, she picks her nose", to wondering "why isn't she talking to me, i'll sit next to her, do I like this girl???"
This guy needs bigger films and the bet directors to put him in their films, because he is potential, a different kind of potential that Bollywood has seen in the male actors.


Konkona: I always loved her! So versatile and so easily does her job of "make believe"! She was fantsatic as Anoki. Her dialouge delivery of when she was acting out for Laila were hillarious. I am surprised she was able to pull of such a role, coz i'd find it hard to keep a straight face. I loved her transition from being such a dirty girl to someone you can relate too regarding matters of the heart. She made such a fantastic pair with Kunal and I absolutley loved her dance to "Babuji zaara dheere chalo" I'm telling you this girl is the next best dancer in the industry
I loved it when she kept on coming back for rehersals when clearly she was no way in the running for Laila


My rating for the film : 8/10


After you all have read this, you'll probably realise there was alot of Madhuri mentioning LOL but to me I feel as though she is like the newest newcomer with so much promises and potential and despite Madz being in the industry for so many years I am pleased and happy to announce Madhuri is my newest fav actress alongside the 17 others that I like even thought I feel I am alittle late in joining the bandwagon and claiming to be her fan....

#25 - Posted on Sat Dec 08, 2007 3:24 am
View user profile

Sponsored content

#26 - Posted

Page 1 of 2 Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum