Welcome to MDF-The Largest Madhuri Dixit Forum On Net.

At the moment, you are viewing the forum as a guest. As a guest you can't make post and participate in discussions. You need to register and become a member of the forum.Please log in if you are already a member or join our community if you're not yet....

Thank You

You are not connected. Please login or register

» Madhuri Dixit World » Latest News/Articles Section » A Question of Trend, by Varun Bahl

A Question of Trend, by Varun Bahl

Luskamralus

Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Female
Number of posts : 8435
Registration date : 2008-10-24
A Question of Trend, by Varun Bahl

As a designer, I often find myself referring to various past decades in my design process. The flapper í20s, the frilly í50s, the psychedelic í70s: each of the past centuryís decades can be easily classified into strong trends that we fashion folk (and most of us were born only in the second half of the 1900s) can instantly recognize. We find it easy to chat about how drop waists are the best thing to come out of the í20s almost like we were there when it all happened. We obviously love, and hate, the power shoulders of the í80s (depending on the designer trying to revive them), and weíre totally into anything that even faintly touches the full-skirted í40s looks a la Christian Dior.

This brings me to Ďnowí. What will future generations of design professionals see when they look back at the (20)í10s and following decades? Even the í90s, supposedly the most subdued time in fashion history and also the most boring, managed to have a signature look that leaned towards minimalism and futurism. And ever since weíve come into the new millennium (feels like a miracle, doesnít it?), weíve done nothing but recycle the ideas of the past, sometimes cramming multiple decades into a single season.